Ever so quietly, the Vienna Symphonic Library breaks ground – again.

Film Music Institute > Film Music Magazine (Archives) > Industry News (Archive) > Ever so quietly, the Vienna Symphonic Library breaks ground – again.

Quietly on the Vienna Symphonic Library forum, came two major announcements: the upgrading of the Vienna Ensemble virtual mixing board to run other third party virtual instruments, and the release of the new Vienna Effects Suite, both usable on either Mac and PC.
Say goodbye to audio cards on farm machines
Until now, only owners of Vienna Instruments packages could make use of the Vienna Symphonic Library’s Vienna Ensemble virtual mixing board which enables Vienna customers to flow both audio and MIDI data across LAN lines between systems. But that’s about to change. While no date has been announced, the company stated on their web site that the Vienna Ensemble Virtual Mixing Board is being updated to handle VSTi’s (virtual instruments) from other companies. This enables composers to run Vienna Instruments along side other programs from EastWest, Kontakt and others in a single virtual rack across both Mac and PC platforms, now opening to many composers, especially those working on the Mac, what FX-Teleport originally offered to PC/Giga users.
So sometime In 2009,  a music production studio using the Vienna Ensemble update, will only need the sequencing computer to have an audio card. All other computers in the studio will connect to the main DAW using LAN cables that can be bought at Staples or Office Depot. No plans were announced to support Gigastudio which was discontinued by Tascam mid-2008.
The New Vienna Effects Suite

Priced at 395 Euros is the new, downloadable, dual platform (Mac/PC) eight-plugins Vienna Effects Suite with a bonus jazz drum set if ordered before January 15, 2009. The 64-bit Vienna Suite includes Equalizer, Master Equalizer, Limiter, Compressor, Multiband Limiter, PowerPan, Exciter and Analyzer. A reverb will be added in early 2009. The Vienna Effects Suite allows for three installs. You can download a 30-day trial version, but to use it, a Vienna Key (USB copy protection key from Synchrosoft) is required. Vienna’s Martin Saleteg is the main developer behind the Suite. For continued updates, watch the VSL Forums.


  • November 20, 2008 @ 12:31 pm

    That’s great news. If the effects suite has the same class and standard as their instruments, then I will certainly purchase it. Looks like the effects are taylored toward orchestral instruments, which I have a hard time finding anywhere at Waves, Oxford, or other effects name brands.
    Good news!
    -Axel Schneider @ digitalsymphonix.com

  • Everett
    November 21, 2008 @ 1:00 pm

    Hmm… I thought maybe they had broken new ground by actually writing some documentation. They’ve got great samples, no question, but their documentation is probably some of the worst out there. They sell a “tutorial” DVD that is a complete waste of money: it’s one long infomercial without any real instructions on how to do anything. I’m usually not this harsh in reviews, but the documentation is a real shocker: luxury samples with rotten stinking instructions… bad combo. I don’t care how good the product is *supposed* to be, if the documentation can’t explain how to actually use it, it’s worthless. Taking documentation into account, EastWest is a better product.

  • November 21, 2008 @ 2:04 pm

    I have to agree with Everett! I have just purchased Special Edition and I thought they had forgotten to include a manual. They don’t even explain which software you are supposed to use with the samples. I finally figured out that you have to download the software after you have installed all the DVDs. Not a huge task if you were told that this was required. When you go to download the missing software you are given two choices “Vienna Instruments” and “Vienna Ensemble”, again no explanation as to what either of them do. For the money they charge a decent book should be a given.
    The lack of a manual means the learning curve is un-neccessarily steep.

  • dragula
    November 27, 2008 @ 4:10 pm

    well, maybe becouse they assume that anyone willing to spend 1500Euros on a basic orchestral bundle arent complete morons?
    BUt thats VSLs big problem, they make their stuff for the highend pro composer marked , but increasingly marked it towards n00bs with special editions and dloadable versions.
    but most of these users have no clue on how to use them, not to meantion getting them sounding good.
    A dilemma…it seems.
    perhaps stick with east west then…

  • December 3, 2008 @ 2:24 am

    That’s odd – I got a quickstart guide and a basic user manual in my box. And the quickstart guide clearly tells you which order to go through things and also points you to a more detailed manual in the user area at the VSL website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *